Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Young Man @ Mercury Lounge (8.14.2012)

Evan and I first encountered the work of Colin Caulfield and his project Young Man with the release of his 2010 EP Boy. With its catchy guitar melodies and thematic lyrics about childhood,  Boy became an instant favorite of ours.  Colin followed the EP with another stellar release, Ideas of Distance, in 2011.  Ideas was not only a complete departure from Boy stylistically but it also marked the first album in a set of three conceptual full-length records to be made under the Young Man name; Vol. 1 became the second.  Released this past May, Vol. 1 features a full band and some of the most impressive examples of Colin's song writing yet.  This summer, Young Man set out on their first headlining tour and made a stop at Mercury Lounge in New York City.

Young Man played a flawless set consisting of songs from Vol. 1, a reworked song from Boy, and new songs from the upcoming record.  Colin was joined by band mates Darien Williams (drums), Joe Bailey (bass), Emmet Conway (guitar), and Jeff Graupner (synths, electronics).  Together they gave the songs an explosive element that made for a one of a kind live experience.

The set was recorded from the middle of the floor with fantastic results. A respectful crowd and killer sound system made for one of our clearest and all around best recordings yet. A huge thank you to Colin for letting us record the show.  Enjoy!

Download the live recording HERE (password= twosails)

Set List:
1. Josie
2. Thoughts
3. Fate
4. Show Me How/ Unfair
5. Do
6. Just A Growin'
7. Directions
8. School

No comments:

Post a Comment